IN THIS ARTICLE:
Learn how to delete a charge from the family ledger (if necessary) and how deleted charges are reflected on financial reports.
- How do I delete a charge?
- What happens if I delete a charge?
- How are deleted charges shown on financial reports?
How do I delete a charge?
If a family has been billed in error or a charge needs to be removed from their account, use the following steps to delete the charge:
- Navigate to the FAMILIES page and locate the family you for whom you wish to remove a charge.
- Click on the currency symbol/ledger button.
- Click the Full Ledger button.
- Locate the charge on the ledger
- Click the pencil/edit icon next to the charge to launch the edit window.
- Click the red Delete button at the bottom of the window to remove the charge.
Only staff members who have been granted the appropriate permission to delete a charge will be given the option to do so.
What happens if I delete a charge?
Any payments which may have been applied to the charge will now be reflected as unapplied credit on the family ledger and available for use on other charges.
How are deleted charges shown on financial reports?
When charges are deleted, they no longer appear in the customer's ledger, the Customer Portal or on financial statements provided to customers.
To remain consistent with other financial reports (which will display any payments that had been applied to the deleted charge as applied to the program and charge category of that charge at the time it was on the ledger), the charges will show up in the Category List Report for the time period between the charge date and the date of the deletion.
If a Category List Report is run for dates which extend past the date that the charge was deleted, the charge will not appear on the report. This is so the data reflected will match any payment based reports, which would also show the status of the payment as unapplied at the time that the charge is deleted.