How Do I Enable/Configure Drop Reasons?

IN THIS ARTICLE:
Learn about the “Drop Reasons” feature, how to enable it for your account, and how to configure and customize which options can be selected.

What is the “Drop Reasons” feature?

The “Drop Reasons” feature allows you to define a list of Drop Reasons and require your staff and customers to choose from these reasons when submitting a drop request from both the Office Portal and Customer Portal for ACTIVE or WAITLIST enrollments (if "Allow waitlist enrollment cancellation" is enabled for Customer Portal).

Where do I enable the “Drop Reasons” feature?

You can enable the “Drop Reasons” feature by clicking the option to “Enable Drop Reasons” under SETTINGS>SETUP>CLASS SETTINGS.

Enabling this option will bring up a second option to "Hide Drop Reasons Used By System", along with a table of pre-defined Drop Reasons:

dropreasons01.png

If "Hide Drop Reasons Used By System" is enabled, the drop reason drop-down menu on an enrollment will not display any drop reasons that are automatically assigned by the system. If disabled, the drop reason drop-down will display drop reasons that are automatically assigned by the system.

For each Drop Reason, the following information is displayed:

  • Actions icons
    • Edit - launches the edit window for the selected Drop Reason
    • Delete - Delete the Drop Reason
  • Drop Reason
  • Show to Customers?
  • Order Ranking
  • Reorder actions

You can edit, add, reorder, delete, or customize most of these as needed. Drop Reasons that have the “Show to Customer?” option enabled will be displayed on the Customer Portal to be selected when your customers submit a drop request. If the “Show to Customer?” option is disabled, these reasons are only visible to Staff in the Office Portal.

NOTE: Deleted Drop Reasons are retained in the system for reporting purposes. You can view/restore deleted Drop Reasons by clicking on the “Show Deleted Items” option.

When are Drop Reasons automatically assigned?

There are seven Drop Reasons that cannot be edited/deleted as they are used internally by iClassPro to automatically label dropped enrollments in certain scenarios:

  • Transfer - automatically assigned to enrollments that are dropped when an enrollment is transferred to a new class.
  • End of Session - For enrollments linked to a specific session, the enrollment will automatically be labelled "End of Session" if the enrollment drop date matches session end date.
    • If SETTINGS>CUSTOMER PORTAL>OTHER SETTINGS>CLASS REGISTRATION>"Allow Visitors To Request A Drop Date On New Enrollment Requests" is enabled and the customer chooses a drop date that is different than the Session end date, the system will show the "Drop Reasons" box and allow them to choose a reason.
  • End of Class - For enrollments in classes that have an “End Date” assigned on the “Bill Dates” tab, the enrollment will automatically be labelled "End of Class" if the enrollment drop date matches session end date.
    • If SETTINGS>CUSTOMER PORTAL>OTHER SETTINGS>CLASS REGISTRATION>"Allow Visitors To Request A Drop Date On New Enrollment Requests" is enabled and the customer chooses a drop date that is different than the Session end date, the system will show the "Drop Reasons" box and allow them to choose a reason.
  • Class Drops - For enrollments that are dropped using the TRANSACTIONS>"Class Drops" function, the enrollment will automatically be labelled “Class Drops” and the date the Class Drops function was run will be noted in the “Drop Notes” field.
  • Trial - Trial requests being approved via Online Activity will auto-populate with the "Trial" reason but staff will be allowed to change this if needed. Trials created via the Office Portal will be automatically labeled as "Trial" when a dropdate is set.
  • Makeup - “Makeup” type enrollments will be automatically labeled as “Makeup” upon creation/approval.
  • Single Day - “Single Day” type enrollments will be automatically labeled as “Single Day” upon creation/approval.
    • NOTE: This option is only used if "Enable Single Day Enrollments In Office Portal" is enabled under SETTINGS>SETUP>CLASS SETTINGS>GENERAL SETTINGS and will reflect whichever "Single Day Enrollment Label" is selected.

How can I override an auto-assigned Drop Reason?

While we generally recommend using the Drop Reason automatically assigned by the system for consistency in reporting, there may be a time when you wish to use a custom drop reason instead.

To do this, click the "Override Drop Reason" option when editing an enrollment. This will allow you to choose from a list of custom drop reasons. Note that any drop reason automatically assigned by the system will be shown if it has already been assigned (regardless of the status of the "Hide Drop Reasons Used By System" setting).

How can I see which Drop Reasons are selected most often?

iClassPro offers two reports that will help you get information about which Drop Reasons are being selected/assigned:

  • Drop List Report (CLA-5) - generates a list of enrollments that dropped within a specified date range. This report contains a column indicating the Drop Reason that was selected, and can also be filtered to select only specific Drop Reasons.
  • Drop Summary Report (CLA-22) - generates a summary of Drop Reasons assigned to enrollments within a specified date range.

Need more assistance?

Call us at 877-554-6776. Our business hours are Mon–Sat, 9am–9pm (CT).