How Do I Configure the Marketing Journey Settings?

IN BRIEF
The Marketing Journey settings allow you to configure advertising integrations and generate tracking scripts that enable accurate attribution and performance tracking within your Customer Portal. For multi-Location accounts, these settings can be configured separately for each Location or shared across all Locations.

Overview

The Marketing Journey settings are designed to integrate your Customer Portal with advertising and tracking platforms such as Google Ads and Meta Pixel.

If you run advertisements that direct customers to any website other than your Customer Portal, you must add the Attribution Relay Script to your website (see “Adding Tracking Scripts to Websites” below for details).

Back to top

Accessing the Configuration Screen(s)

  • In the Office Portal, go to SETTINGS>CUSTOMER PORTAL>MARKETING JOURNEY.
  • Enable and configure the “Advertising Integrations” options and generate “Tracking Scripts” based on your needs.
  • Switch between the Google or Meta tabs in the "Advertising Integrations" section depending on which account you are configuring.

NOTE: Only account owners and staff members who have been granted “Admin Access” will be able to access the “Marketing Journey” area. If a non-admin user attempts to access this area, they will be presented with the following error: Permission Denied: You must be an administrator to edit ad accounts.

Back to top

Step-By-Step Instructions

Integrating your Google/Meta accounts

  1. Navigate to SETTINGS>INTEGRATIONS.
  2. Select the appropriate tile to configure either your Google or Meta account.
  3. To connect your Google account:
    • Click Connect to Google.
    • Select the appropriate Location(s) to associate with the account you will be logging into.
    • Click Confirm Selection.
    • Follow the prompts to complete the integration.
  4. To connect your Meta account
    • Click Connect to Meta.
    • Select the appropriate Location(s) to associate with the account you will be logging into.
    • Click Confirm Selection.
    • Follow the prompts to complete the integration.

Back to top

Advertising Integrations

Under SETTINGS>CUSTOMER PORTAL>MARKETING JOURNEY, configure your “Advertising Integration” settings by assigning the appropriate Google/Meta ad account to each Location. 

Note that the "Automatic Tracking" option will be enabled by default. This option should only be disabled if you want to track conversions manually via Google Tag Manager.

advertising_integrations.png

There is also an advanced settings button ("gear" icon) at the end of Advertising Integration rows (for both Google and Meta). Clicking this button pulls a list of your campaigns and allows you to exclude campaigns that are unrelated to generating portal sales, such as employment ads or campaigns for other locations (if you use a single ad account for multiple locations).

campaign_settings.png

After configuring your “Advertising Integration” settings, be sure to Save your changes.

NOTE: If you do not run Google/Meta ads and do not plan to, you do not need to configure any “Advertising Integrations.” However, you must add the “Attribution Data Relay Script” to your website for your Marketing Journey Dashboard to have accurate website discovery data.

Back to top

Attribution Data Relay Script

If you run advertisements that direct customers to any website other than your Customer Portal, you must add the Attribution Relay Script to your website (see “Adding Tracking Scripts to Websites” below for details).

attribution_relay.png

Adding Tracking Scripts to Websites

  • For iClassPro Custom Website Customers
  • Other Website Platforms
    • Add the tracking scripts to your website's <head> section.
      • NOTE: This typically involves editing your theme files or using your platform's code injection features.
    • Contact your web developer or website administrator for assistance.

Back to top

Important Notes

  • Meta requires reauthentication at least every 60 days.
    • NOTE: admins will receive log-in notices within 14 days of expiration.
  • Disconnecting a provider (Meta/Google) account removes all ad accounts from associated Locations.
  • To prevent duplicate events, update Google Tag Manager containers to remove any Google Ads AW- tags or Meta Pixel setup if automatic tracking is enabled.
  • Authorizing Google allows the Customer Portal to automatically initialize and send event data directly to the tenant’s Google Ads account.
  • Authorizing Meta allows the Customer Portal to automatically initialize and send event data directly to the tenant’s Meta Pixel.
  • In general, disabling the "Automatic Tracking" option for Google/Meta accounts is not recommended.

Back to top

Troubleshooting & FAQs

  • What happens if I disconnect a Meta or Google provider account?
    • All associated ad accounts are removed from all Locations.
  • Can I exclude specific campaigns that are unrelated to generating portal sales?
    • Yes. Use the advanced settings button ("gear" icon) at the end of the Advertising Integration row to control which campaigns are enabled.
  • Why do I need to reauthenticate Meta?
    • Meta requires reauthentication every 60 days. If this is not completed, your ads may stop receiving event data and your Marketing Journey dashboard will no longer reflect up-to-date ad campaign performance and ROAS metrics.
      • NOTE: Admins will receive log-in notices within 14 days of expiration.
  • How do I avoid duplicate event data?
    • If you DO NOT have any Google Tag Manager (GTM) tags set up under SETTINGS>CUSTOMER PORTAL>OTHER SETTINGS>MARKETING AND BRANDING, or you do not use Google Ads or Meta Pixel via GTM, no action is needed.
    • If you DO have Google Tag Manager (GTM) tags set up, you’ll need to update your GTM container to make sure it’s not activating Google Ads or Meta Pixel from within that container if automatic tracking is enabled.
  • What happens if I open a new Location?
    • You will need to associate the new Location with the appropriate ad account for the system to collect data.
      • If you are sharing accounts across all Locations, you will need to disconnect and reconnect to associate the new Location.
      • If you are using Location-specific accounts, you will need assign it to a provider account using the Manage button, then add a new ad account in the table.
  • What if I need assistance adding tracking scripts to my website?
  • Why can't I see the "Marketing Journey" settings?
    • Marketing Journey requires a subscription to a Growth Engine plan.
      • NOTE: Visit [URL to come] for more information.

Back to top

Back to top

Need more assistance?

Customer support is available at 1-877-554-6776.

Sunday 3 PM – 12 AM CT
Monday–Thursday 9 AM – 12 AM CT
Friday–Saturday 9 AM – 6 PM CT.