How Do I Merge Family Accounts?

IN THIS ARTICLE:
Learn how use the Family Merge tool to easily merge duplicate family/student records together.

Why Merge Families/Students?

Duplicate families, or accounts, are a common problem in any database system. In iClassPro, this happens most often when a family already has an account from a previous enrollment and creates a new account online.

The Family Merge tool easily merges duplicate families, or accounts, into one record in just a few clicks. With this feature, ledger transactions, students, enrollments, contact info, autopay information, family notes, special discounts, and policy acceptance can be easily combined into one account.

How to Merge Family Accounts

The merge feature is performed from the FAMILIES page in iClassPro-- in a similar way as sending a group email or applying mass charges. Follow the steps and screenshots below to see how it works.

When merging two or more families, the previous families are deleted and a brand new family is created with the selected information. Take care when selecting vital information, as this action cannot be undone.

  1. Go to the FAMILIES Page by clicking the Family icon at the top of iClassPro.
  2. Find the families to merge using the search filters on the left side of the page. (See image below)

  3. Check the boxes next to the families you would like to merge (maximum of 5).
    • NOTE: the system selects the information connected to the first family you select as the Primary information for the new family account. While you can edit this in Step 5, selecting the family now reduces the number of steps you will need to take to edit the family information.
  4. Click the Family Merge Icon that appears at the bottom of the window (See image below).

  5. Combine family information by dragging and dropping information into the merge result column or use the + and x buttons next to family information to add and remove it from the saved information.
    • Whichever guardian is listed at the top of the left-hand column will be considered the Primary Guardian on the new family. (You can drag-and-drop these entries as needed.)
      • The Policy acceptance status of available guardians will be noted to help you decide which guardian should be listed as Primary on the merged account.
        • "Accepted" (in green) - indicates a guardian who has accepted the current version of policies. The name of this guardian will also be boldfaced.
        • "Accepted Past" (in orange) - indicates a guardian who has accepted the past version of policies (but not the current version).
        • Guardians with no policy acceptance indicator have not accepted any policies at all.
    • Phone Numbers and Emails will also follow this pattern - whichever is listed first will be considered the Primary for contact purposes. (You can drag-and-drop these entries as needed.)
      • The Primary Email is currently the only email address that can be used to log into the Customer Portal. Be sure to let the family know which email address they will need to use moving forward so they do not attempt to create a new account.
    • Be sure to scroll down the screen to use drop-downs to select additional information to be saved such as Autopay, Anniversary items, "How Did You Hear" and Special Discounts.
    • For Accepted Policies, the merge will save the most recent acceptance information and discard any previous acceptance history.
    • For Unsubscribed Email settings, the merge will look to see if this box is checked on either family-- if it is, the resulting family after the merge will also be unsubscribed.
  6. Once all the correct information is saved on the left side of the screen, click Next.
  7. Follow the on-screen instructions to combine students in the selected Family. To merge one student with another, simply drag the unwanted student under the heading for the student you would like to keep.
  8. Click FINISH to begin the merge.
  9. The merge will begin as a background task, which will keep you apprised of the process and will note when it has completed.
    • NOTE: Only one family merge process can be running per staff member.  You must wait for one merge process to complete before you can begin another.
  10. Review the family and students left after the merge by finding the family and clicking the pencil icon to view the details.

Upon a successful merge, a single family account will be created with the following policy acceptances:

  • If the Primary Guardian on the new account had previously accepted all current policies, the family policies will be marked as "Accepted."
  • If the Primary Guardian on the new account had NOT accepted all current policies, they will be required to accept the current versions upon their next login to the Customer Portal.
  • In all cases, all Student Policies must be accepted/rejected by the new Primary Guardian to ensure that the system has recorded the new Primary Guardian as the person responsible for the student and therefore authorized to accept/reject the policies on their behalf.

How to Merge Student Accounts

If duplicate students exist on the same family account, it is possible to use the same process outlined above to merge them together.

  1. Go to the FAMILIES Page by clicking the Family icon at the top of iClassPro.
  2. Find the family containing the duplicate student records needing to be merged using the search filters on the left side of the page. (See image below)

  3. Check the box next to the family's account.
  4. Click the Family Merge Icon that appears at the bottom of the window (See image below).

  5. Because only one family is selected, there is no family data to be merged. Click Next to continue to the "Merge Students" screen.
  6. Follow the on-screen instructions to combine students in the selected Family. To merge one student with another, simply drag the unwanted student under the heading for the student you would like to keep.
  7. Click FINISH to begin the merge.
  8. The merge will begin as a background task, which will keep you apprised of the process and will note when it has completed.
    • NOTE: Only one family merge process can be running per staff member.  You must wait for one merge process to complete before you can begin another.
  9. Review the students left after the merge by finding the family and clicking the pencil icon to view the details.

Need more assistance?

Call us at 877-554-6776. Our business hours are Mon–Sat, 9am–9pm (CT).